Life

Dubai Dreaming

Hey guys!

I’ve had a pretty hectic few weeks and I’ve been ridiculously stressed out with work (finally been booked in for my OSCE practical exams at the start of July, eek!) so I decided to have a browse online for holiday which I can’t afford and I came across this competition to win a dream holiday to Dubai. I kid you not, my heart skipped a beat! I have been dreaming on visiting Dubai for years but it’s sadly been a very expensive dream for me.

kim k crying

Tots100 have teamed up with Dubai Tourism and are offering a holiday of a lifetime to one lucky blogger as  part of their DXB Dreams blogger challenge. Not only that, they are also offering one lucky commenter the chance of winning a Dubai trip so be sure to get stuck in and tell me all about your dreams too. The competition is quite simple really, you simply have to write a blog, detailing what adventures you would get up to if you won.

As I’ve stated before, I am a massive, huge, gigantic racing fan and Dubai is thee place to be for fast car lovers so naturally, my brain went ‘You are entering this, right?! You’re not seriously just going to sit and look at the pretty pictures? Woman, get writing’.

Not only is Dubai the playground for the rich and famous and the go to for all petrol heads like myself, it also has Ferrari World (technically it’s in Abu Dhabi but I do know they do trips to and from). Let me repeat that. Ferrari. World. Which has the world’s fastest rollercoaster. But HELLO! Ferrari World! With a real F1 simulator! It’s hard to explain to non petrol heads how exciting this is for me but it’s the equivalent of coming downstairs at Christmas to find David Beckham with a bow on under your tree, holding a Tiffany’s box and the Urban Decay Vault.

ferrari world

I’m not just a petrol head, I’m also an animal fanatic which kind of helps with my job seeing as I’m about to qualify as a veterinary nurse so finding out that I could not only go to the aquarium and indulge my nerdy, animal loving side but, as it’s on the ground floor of the Dubai Mall, I could also then indulge my inner shopaholic and go splash some cash. How fantastic! In all honesty, I totally adore aquariums, there is something totally hypnotic about the way the fish glide around so effortlessly with all their vivid, jewel colours. It’s as if you’re transported to a completely different world.

dubai aquarium

Obviously, Dubai is one of the most lavished, luxurious places on the planet but that doesn’t mean you should fork out for everything. The best things in life are free, right? So, a wander around the city, taking in the sights would definitely be high on my list of things to do because I just love being a total tourist. From watching the Dubai Fountain dancing in the afternoon sun (because only mad dogs and English men go out in the midday sun, you know) to marvelling at the amazing architectural masterpiece that is the Burj Khalifa. Of course, a laze on one of the many beaches would definitely be mandatory but, as I’m pale enough to pass as Casper the Friendly Ghost’s body double, sunbathing is not always the best option for me. Instead, I would be enjoying a frolic in the sea, covered in my factor 50 and then enjoying a good book before starting off on another adventure. The desert perhaps? I am a lover of nature and I’m more used to greenery of the countryside than the sand dunes of the desert so it would be an amazing change of scenery for me.

Burj Khalifa at Day

Enough daydreaming for me! The furthest I’m currently going is Silverstone in July which I am ridiculously excited about! Fingers crossed for a sunny one!

I will be doing another Formula 1 related post soon (sorry) because I have just updated my tshirt collection and, honestly, it is A.MAZ.ING!

I will be disappearing and reappearing with my posts so apologies in advance for more sporadic posting but my career comes first. So many animals to help, so little time.

If you are also wanting to enter via your own blog post or through the comments, please check out the full terms and conditions here.

Thank you for reading and I’ll hopefully (fingers crossed) be back again very soon!

Toodles!

X

17 thoughts on “Dubai Dreaming

  1. OMG Ferrari World, how did I ever forget that was there. I would love to go to Ferrari World – that place looks amazing and as a huge F1 fan that would be a total dream come true in it’s self. Now I MUST go to Dubai one day x

    Like

  2. I thought Ferrari World was in Abu Dhabi – must do my research better! My man would love that, he’s a huge F1 fan. We love the fountains as the best free thing to do and I think with the children we’d have to head to one of the water parks or Dolphin Bay as I have a family of water babies!

    Dubai is a wonderful holiday destination and I think the biggest problem is how you fit everything in.

    Good luck with your entry!

    Like

  3. I know what you mean, I have palpitations just at the mere thought of visiting Dubai. In a good way of course!
    The aquarium looks amazing, I think my boys would be gob-smacked to feel as if you were walking through the ocean, seeing all the wildlife overhead.
    It’s great to know that Dubai do day trips as well, so it would make a fabulous central location if you wanted to visit other locations in the middle east.
    Good luck with your entry, and your exams.

    Like

  4. Oh our boys would go mad for Ferrari World yet I never even mentioned it in my post, they will kill me! There is just so much to do in Dubai, good luck x

    Like

  5. What a fantastic holiday. Definitely need the factor 50 but there are plenty of air-conditioned buildings you can retreat into as well! What a treat after your exam. Good luck with the comp 🙂

    Like

  6. wow Ferrari world would be something the boys in the family would love. Visiting the sharks and fishes and shopping all in the same place would be a great way to spend the hottest part of the day. Like you I would turn the colour of a lobster in that midday sun. Daydreaming of the views and seeing a different culture would be something I think my family would enjoy too. Good luck with your entry, and keep dreaming.

    Like

  7. Thinking of a trip to Dubai really does send you into a daydream! I have been before and that makes it worse as you know that it really is as great as it sounds! I would love to go back and do a desert safari. We just couldn’t fit everything in last time so that would be top.

    Like

  8. Dubai has been at the top of my bucket list for many years now and reading you post has made me want to visit so much more!

    Souks, skyscrapers, sand and sea, Dubai really has something for all the family and the possibility of visiting this incredible city is making me super excited.

    I’d love the opportunity to win our perfect family holiday in Dubai; a holiday for the four of us, that combines unlimited opportunities for fun and adventure. We’d be able to
    escape the ‘day to day’, making memories and recharging our batteries. And it would give us the chance to simply spend our days together as a family, enjoying each other’s company before Jack starts school in September.

    There are so many amazing adventures we’d like to experience, but our top 3 would have to be:

    1// A day of aquatic fun at Atlantis’ Aquaventure Waterpark to cool off in the Dubai heat. Aquaventure caters for all the family with its record-breaking rides and slides for thrill seekers and the Splashers’ Children’s Play Area, which is a haven for little ones with water cannons, slides and climbing frames.

    2 // A once-in-a-lifetime experience at Dolphin Bay. As there’s no age limit, we could enjoy this amazing experience as a family and I can only imagine the joy on the children’s faces when they get up close to these amazing creatures!

    3 // Experience the heady heights of Burj Khalifa. We couldn’t visit Dubai without venturing up the tallest building in the World, and although I’m afraid of heights, I’d still feel compelled to visit the observation deck on the 144th floor. As long as I don’t stand too close to the edge, nor look vertically down, I think I’d actually enjoy it.

    I’m now off to spend the day daydreaming about Dubai and all it has to offer…

    Best of luck with your entry!

    Like

  9. Wow the Dubai fountain looks absolutely amazing! I would love to go to Dubai just to see that yet there is so much more all in one place – it is almost too hard to imagine so I will have to go there to find out for myself 🙂 The beautiful beach beckons me, incredible concerts and entertainment, retail heaven and then relax and unwind by trying out traditional spa therapies at the hammam! The food in Dubai looks divine and I bet it is delicious. My husband would love the adventure sports, golf courses and falconry. There is something here for everyone. Dubai is my dream destination

    Like

  10. I would love to take my grandsons on a Dream Trip to Dubai – a clean, safe, family-friendly holiday destination, with plenty of activities to choose from for any age range. As well as relaxing on the beautiful golden sand of JBR Beach with its warm, calm and shallow waters we would all enjoy a dune-bashing safari followed by a camel ride and BBQ dinner in a Bedouin desert camp.

    We would visit the Dubai Museum in the Al Fahidi Fort to learn about life from a bygone era as a contrast to the amazing architecture of the modern city which we could view from the front or rear carriages of the driverless Dubai Metro system and then take it all in from the At The Top observation deck of the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest building.

    The free and impressive Dubai Fountain water, light and music show can be watched from one of many waterfront cafes just outside the Dubai Mall. The malls in Dubai have many family attractions to choose from. The boys could try ice-skating, helped by the ‘penguin pals’, visit the Dubai Aquarium and Underwater Zoo and also see the giant 155 million year old dinosaur skeleton (DubaiDino), all in the Dubai Mall.

    The boys love theme parks and this summer Dubai will open the world’s largest indoor theme park – IMG Worlds of Adventure with four themed zones inside including Marvel, Cartoon Network, Lost Valley – Dinosaur Adventure and IMG Boulevard. This will be completely enclosed and temperature-controlled with 1.5 million square feet of entertainment space!

    Our only problem will be going home with so much more left for us to see and do in beautiful Dubai

    Like

  11. Good luck with your entry! It sounds like you would really make the most of your time there if you were lucky enough to win. I know I’d have trouble narrowing down exactly what we wanted to do if we were able to visit; there just seems to be so much and so much that is completely unique to Dubai as well. We’d definitely have to visit the underwater aquarium and possibly a souk or two as well.

    Like

  12. That is such a good point you make about just wandering around the city seeing the sights and architecture. So much of the mystery and magic of a place is caught up in the buildings, structures, architecture and general ‘feel’ of a place that you don’t need to jam-pack the itinery with specific places to visit but just take time to enjoy and appreciate your surroundings too. I love the sound of dolphin bay and the food and culture seems incredible.

    Like

  13. Myself and my family are all animal fantics too. The aquariums look so amazing!!
    My dream is for me and my family to swim with Dolphins in Dubai (it makes me tear up at the thought!). I would love to do it in a much more natural setting than in a swimming pool and I have heard there are some amazing places to swim with them! I would love to visit Atlantis too as it would be a brilliant day for everyone (and I am a big kid). I also wouldn’t mind chilling on the beach with my boys, building sandcastles too. Just heaven!

    Like

  14. Ferrari World, why haven’t I even heard of some of these amazing places up till now? I’ve been blog hopping and seen some incredible things, but yours is the first I’ve seen feature Ferrari World. My husband would be in his element! Me? Not so much, but no problem, I’ll head to the Souks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

